Thailand's 2019 ASEAN Chairmanship (2019)



 Issue Name: ASEAN Chairmanship
 Thai Issue Name: ประธานอาเซียน
 Issue Date: 2019/2562-06-01
 Cause: Chairmanship  To mark Thailand's 2019 presidency of ASEAN
 Catalogue Number: 2019/17
 Denomination: 3 Baht
 Unused Value: 3 Baht
 Used Value: 1 Baht
 Thailex Collection: n/a
 Size: 48 x 30 mm
 Quantity of Stamps: n/a
 Printer: n/a
 Subject: A bouquet composed of the national flowers of the 10 member countries of ASEAN, i.e. 1. Simpoh Ayer (Dillenia suffruticosa) for Brunei Darussalam; 2. Rumdul (Mitrella mesnyi) for Cambodia; 3. White Moth Orchid (Phalaenopsis amabilis) for Indonesia; 4. Frangipani (Plumeria acutifolia) for Laos; 5. Chinese Hibiscus (Hibiscus rosa-sinensis) for Malaysia; 6. Paduak (Pterocarpus indicus) for Myanmar; 7. Arabian Jasmine (Jasminum sambac) for the Philippines; 8. Singapore Orchid (Vanda Miss Joaquim) for Singapore; 9. Rachaphreuk (Cassia fistula) for Thailand; 10. Lotus (Nelumbo nucifera) for Vietnam. The bouquet of national flowers is tied with a ribbon in the Thai tricolour called trairong (fig.). In the bottom left corner is the logo of the 34th ASEAN Summit, which consists of the ASEAN logo, i.e. ten yellow stalks of paddy on a red circle (fig.), placed inside the center of a traditional Thai garland or puang malai, in the form of a wrist garland which is typically offered as a form of respect and to welcome guests. This type of garland is known in Thai as malai khlong meua (fig.) and demonstrates the hospitality of Thailand as the host nation of the 2019 Convention.
 Related Link: ASEAN, Cambodia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, Thailand, National Flowers of ASEAN Countries, trairong, dokmai, rachaphreuk, frangipani, lotus, hibiscus, jasmine, ma-li, Burma Padauk, puang malai, malai khlong meua, Thai Garlands